George Gauthier Track
|photo courtesy of S. Brown
Battling Bishop men's and women's track & field teams host outdoor meets on the
George Gauthier Track, inside Selby Field on South Henry Street on the eastern edge of campus, while indoor meets
are held in the Gordon Field House, nestled
in the middle of campus.
all-weather George Gauthier Track is an Ameritan FP surface completed
for the 2006-07 academic year. As part of the track project, a second
shot put area was installed, as were new areas for the long and triple
jumps on the east side of the visitors' grandstand.
The site of 19 of the first 26 NCAC outdoor track & field championships,
Selby is believed to be the oldest facility in the nation constructed
to Olympic specifications and remaining in its original configuration. Selby Field and the Gauthier Track will play host to the NCAA Division III outdoor track & field championships in 2011.
Gauthier served as Ohio Wesleyan's athletics director from 1921-55. He was the Battling Bishops' football coach from 1921-46, the Bishops' men's track & field coach from 1922-55, and the men's cross country coach from 1955-58.
Selby Field, built in 1929, was designed by Gauthier and named after George
D. Selby, who served the Ohio Wesleyan board of trustees for 24 years.
Selby Field received lights for the 2010-11 academic year and serves as home of the Bishop football, field hockey and men's lacrosse
to 1929, the Bishops hosted home meets at Edwards Field, the site of today's
Branch Rickey Center, which includes the Gordon Field House.
Directions to Selby Field and the George Gauthier Track
Back to the main Men's Track & Field page
Back to the main Women's Track & Field page
to the main Facilities & Maps page