OWU Home

Information & Tickets

Quick Facts
Why "Battling Bishops?"
Ticket Information
The North Coast Athletic Conference

Quick Facts

LOCATION: Delaware, Ohio
NICKNAME: Battling Bishops
COLORS: Red and Black
PRESIDENT: Dr. Rock Jones
CONFERENCE: North Coast Athletic Conference
VARSITY SPORTS : 23 (11 men, 12 women)

Edwards Gym
Ohio Wesleyan University
105 S. Sandusky Street
Delaware, OH 43015

Why Battling Bishops?
The nickname "The Battling Bishops" dates to 1925; before then Ohio Wesleyan University's teams were simply known as "The Red and Black," or sometimes as "The Methodists." Ohio Wesleyan is affiliated with the United Methodist Church, and long has produced many of its bishops.

By April, 1925, according to that issue of the alumni Magazine, the present name had finally been derived. "Ohio sports writers have been at a loss," the magazine reported. "There are countless colleges throughout the country claiming red and black as their colors, and 14 Methodist colleges in Ohio alone." Pi Delta Epsilon journalism fraternity therefore sponsored a contest, and the winning nickname, "The Battling Bishops," was "placed before the sports writers of the state as the teams' official title." Senior Harold Thomas of Lima submitted the winning entry.

The new nickname must have provided inspiration. The 1925 football team, under George Gauthier, "The Little Giant," went 7-1-1. Its only loss came to Ohio State by a 10-3 score, and it tied Syracuse, 3-3, en route to winning Ohio Conference and Big Six championships.

Ticket Information
Ohio Wesleyan University athletic events are open to the public. Admission charges are $6 for adults and $3 for students for football, men's soccer, women's soccer, men's basketball, women's basketball, and men's lacrosse regular-season games, as well as any Ohio Wesleyan tournaments.

North Coast Athletic Conference championship events, as well as
NCAA Division III postseason events, require paid admission.

North Coast Athletic Conference
Ohio Wesleyan University is a charter member of the North Coast Athletic Conference, which began competition in the 1984-85 academic year. Other charter members are Allegheny College, Case Western Reserve University, Denison University, Kenyon College, Oberlin College and the College of Wooster. Wittenberg University joined the NCAC in 1988 and began championship competition in the 1989-90 academic year, Earlham College joined in 1988 and remains an affiliate member in field hockey, Hiram College and Wabash College joined the NCAC in 1998 and began championship competition in the 1999-2000 academic year, and DePauw University joined the NCAC in 2010.

The NCAC’s 10 members believe academic and athletic excellence can co-exist, with no undue overemphasis on athletics. They also believe the principle of balance is important in athletic programs at the Division III level, with no “major” or “minor” sports in comparison with any other, but all equally worthwhile. Equity for both men’s and women’s sports is a founding and standard principle. The NCAC’s 23 championship sports includes 11 for men and 12 for women, the latter figure leading all Division III conferences in the country. When at least 5 Conference institutions sponsor a varsity sport, the NCAC conducts championship play and honors the champion.

During the NCAC’s 26 years of competition, the league has established itself as one of the most competitive in the nation. A total of 52 teams in all 22 sports were represented in national competition last year, with 1 team winning an NCAA Division III championship to raise the conference’s 26-year total to 57. In addition, 180 student-athletes from around the league earned All-America and/or Academic All-America® honors.
NCAC Office Directory
Executive Director: TBA
Assistant Director: Keri Alexander Luchowski
Assistant Director: Sue Penicka

Visit the North Coast Athletic Conference Web site
E-mail the NCAC